Throw Back with the Navigator

So… I have to blog about this. It’s the kind of thing where one particular song, or person, or… anything really (in this case, a movie) continues to pop up in random conversations. This time, it’s the classic 80s sci-fi Disney flick, Flight of the Navigator.

I remembered watching the movie when I was a kid. I remembered loving it. I knew that it was similar to other movies of that era like *Batteries Not Included, Short Circuit and E.T.. Bex was telling me that she “stole” a few movies from her boyfriend, and Flight of the Navigator was one of them. I couldn’t resist.

It was AWESOME. The best parts were the flying sequences, with the rad 80s electronic music pumping in the background. Think Neverending Story (Vaaaaaaaalkoooooooor!), but instead of a big white furry dragon, it’s a svelte spacecraft kind of shaped like a Hershey’s Kiss, and instead of the Neverending Story theme song, it’s a boop-beep-boop filled electro-pop song (with violins)! So good.

And, I was testing out that W200 digital camera this weekend… Here’s a pic from the memorial that’s popped up at Richmond and Niagara, honouring the two guys that were shot and killed there on June 13th. They still haven’t found the coward that did it.

And here’s a pic of Ori (welcome home Ori!!!) with her beautiful hair:

One thought on “Throw Back with the Navigator

  1. I had totally forgot about that movie until i saw your post. That was a classic and i really loved batteries not included. It made you feel emotion towards little robot things.Well I really enjoyed going through your blog and I’m contacting you because I work for a word of mouth marketing company based in Toronto. For the program that I am currently working on I’m looking for women that are influential and have blogs like yourself with hopes that you’d be willing to participate in a short survey about Listerine White strips. If you are between 25-44 and qualify the survey you will be sent some free products for you to try out and review.The survey doesn’t take much of your time and id love to get a chance to connect with you and get your valuable feedback!Please feel free to email me back at cynthia@matchstick.ca and you can letme know if your interested and how best to further contact you. Thanks in advance, Cynthia Matchstick

Leave a Reply

